@ 2007 Diocese of


Bishop Stude

Circular 20/2011

Balanga, November 25, 2011 Feast of Christ the King


Enjoining All Extraordinary Ministers to Eucharistic Adoration


The ordinary ministers of Holy Communion are the bishops, priests and deacons (Canon 910, n. 1). When there is regularly a great number of communicants at Mass, the ordinary upon the recommendation of parish priests may commission from the laity certain men of good religious standing to be installed as extraordinary ministers of Holy Communion (Canons 230, n.3 and 910, n.2). Some of these ministers bring Holy Communion to the sick and elderly at home (Balanga 1st Synod p 89,5b).


In order to equip lay ministers with a deep appreciation and devotion to the Holy Eucharist, parish priests must provide regular sessions of formation for them. To be considered as a formation par excellence is the adoration of the Blessed Sacrament. Our Lord before his enactment of the Paschal Mystery prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane where he asked the three apostles with him to spend even an hour of prayer. He said, “Can you not watch with me one hour?” This divine appeal can be best realized with the Eucharistic Adoration.


As there exists in the diocese the Adoracion Nocturna Filipino (ANF) that centers its activity on the Holy Eucharist as the source and summit of Christian living (CCC 1324), it is my desire that this organization will assist our extraordinary ministers of Holy Communion in deepening their love and reverence for the Body of Christ whom they hold dearly in rendering this ministry.


Parish priests are thus advised to:


1. enjoin their active extraordinary ministers of Holy Communion to join the ANF as regular or honorary members.

2. recruit as extraordinary ministers from ANF members or from those who are willing to join the ANF as regular or honorary members; however, it is to be understood that not every member of the ANF is expected to serve in this ministry.


With my pastoral blessings.




Bishop of Balanga

Diocese of Balanga
(Bataan, Philippines)